1. Creator/Author:
  2. E.B. & E.C. Kellogg (8)

The Presidents of the United States

Phelps & Watson, E.B. & E.C. Kellogg, F.P. Whiting, Geo. Whiting, Golden & Sammons
New York, New York; Connecticut, Hartford
Origin Date:
overall: 16 7/8 in x 13 in
Item ID:
Holding Institution:
Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection, courtesy of the Indiana State Museum
Available for Viewing:
Fine Art


This color print features portraits of the first sixteen presidents of the United States. They are all mostly depicted in a three-quarter profile and framed in an oval shape. They are divided into four rows and four columns each with the first row beginning with George Washington and ending with James Madison. The second row begins with James Monroe and ends with Martin Van Buren, and the third row begins with William H. Harrison and ends with Zachary Taylor. The last row begins with Millard Fillmore and ends with Abraham Lincoln. At the top of the print above the first row is an eagle with wings raised, standing on top of a shield that has an American flag on it, and holding arrows. The phrase, "E Pluribus Unum," is located to the PL of the eagle on a banner. There are also four hanging American flags flanking the eagle with two on either side of it. In between the portraits of the presidents are yellow stars, and in the dead center of the image is another shield with an American flag on it. At the very bottom of the print, there is a gold banner that states the title of the print, "The Presidents of the United States". In the bottom PL corner of the print is the text, "Retail Price, 25 cts." stamped on. Part of the Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection, courtesy of the Indiana State Museum